Out There Space Stories (awakening a crew)

I’ve played Out There enough times to have a grasp of what I should and shouldn’t do. The permanent death makes everything fresh and unique with random solar system in a galaxy that never changes. You never really die, you just go back to cryogenic sleep from where you came. All of my longest lives have always lead me to a gap in solar systems that I just couldn’t traverse. With this in mind, I fully intended to explore for this life time. Just see what’s out there, knowing that I’ll end up asleep.

I first thought that I was screwed when my probe melted and I didn’t have the iron to make a new one. See probes are how you get fuel from gas giants in space. As it turns out I was wrong. I barely made it to a rock planet, landed, drilled to find some iron. Collected it, made a probe and I was on my way to refuel at a gas giant.

It felt like my longest space journey, since I came across an efficient small crescent ship that allowed me to travel without depleting my fuel as much as every other vessel. It didn’t have much of a cargo hold, so I was surviving without really expanding. I passed up several larger ships, since more fuel conservation just means a longer life.

I ended up exploring what I call the starless sea with no way around it. I think you need a wormhole generator for that or just find a wormhole in general. It boils down to luck. A sad amount of luck that will get you through, but that’s part of any rogue-like or just poor game design.

Several star systems were explored and I had to back track over and over again really risking my vessel with every time I had to return to a depleted solar system. That’s when I found an alien armada. I’ve found life on planets and abandon ships, but never an armada. Now that I think about it, there are text statements encountering other ships, but its all text. There’s no visual aides. This armada knocked me out and stole my stuff. They didn’t leave me with much, but it was enough to find some place to get more.

1

I assumed it was just that one event. Well as I continued back tracking, these aliens had conquered planets! I could no longer use these planets or gas giants, they were now occupied by these new aliens. I had awakened them and they were now consuming solar systems and preventing me from using them. Making a tough game even harder.

As I wandered to undiscovered territory, I stumbled upon yet another ship. This was a fat cargo vessel and when I explored it, I discovered it was a cryogenic ship full of more than one hundred sleeping humans. Wow, my own people and I thought I was the only one. Well at least I think its a hundred, I’m not sure if the number twenty means there are twenty in there or its just one.

While I was happy to discover my people, my ship is just superior, but not by much. The real benefit of my ship is having a small body so it uses less fuel. Well this new vessel is a giant. I was forced to leave the ship before. My life is more important than theirs. I don’t even know how to revive them.

After exploring to the “south” more it was all a dead end of a solar system peninsula. So I was forced to head back only to see aliens conquering more planets. I was running out of resources and then I ran into the cryogenic vessel once more. Then against my better judgement, I thought no man left behind, so I took their ship. Since I had last seen the ship, I had the minerals to patch up the damage they had in order to take more stuff with me. Once I dismantled the old ship’s components, I was well on my way.

The new cryogenic ship used almost twice the fuel. Its a beast that I knew I couldn’t maintain. I had to stop at every gas giant to refuel, but its a losing battle. Fuel is always the short term constant problem, while oxygen and your hull are more long term issues that are never threatening.

It was only a matter of jumps before I couldn’t find any gas giants. My longest space journey didn’t even yield my highest score. I went to cryogenic sleep with the rest of the others. I never left them behind.

Leave a Reply

