25 Dirt Cheap Games I bought for the Winter Steam Sale 2014

I am cheap. We all are cheap. When it comes to sales we do crazy things and buy things we’ll never play. Heck if you’re like me you buy games that you already own! What? Why did I do that? I even bought games that I can’t play. Why? Because they’re cheap that’s why! Now here’s a list of what I bought.

ROLLERCOASTER TYCOON 2: TRIPLE THRILL PACK
I already own this… I bought it again! I have the CD in my laptop right now as I mentioned before on a previous post. I haven’t played it, but hey now I own it on Steam so I can finally pop out that CD and do something with it. What will I do? Who knows?

ROLLERCOASTER TYCOON: DELUXE
Yeah I own this too. Personally, I think that its better than the second. Now I own it on Steam. Luckily I was able to buy them both when they’re 70% off. Originally, I was going to wait until they both were in a bundle, but eh what the heck? If I want it why not? If I own it, why not?

THE WITCHER: ENHANCED EDITION
I own this already. I own a tradeable copy that I’ve never opened. Well now I own it again! I haven’t played it yet. Its a dirt cheap game that wants to hype of the Witcher 3 coming out. Either that or the fact there’s no digital rights management has kept the price down.

GHOSTBUSTERS: THE VIDEOGAME
There is already a review for this. Let me simply say $2 was well worth the one day I played it. I guess the only thing that I have to add is that I was always hungry for Doritos while playing it.

POSTAL 2 COMPLETE
I own the first Postal. Never played it. I probably should have waited for a bundle, but hey why not? It was less than a dollar like Super Meat Boy. If Gary Coleman is in it, then its bound to be awful.

POKER NIGHT 2
Funny thing… I own all of the Team Fortress 2 items. Somehow some way someone gave them to me all wrapped in gifts. It seemed useless to wrap five worthless items in $2 gift wrap to send to me. Whatever, it wasn’t my gift wrap. I never liked the first one, so why not get the second?

COUNTER-STRIKE COMPLETE 2014
I’ve played Counter-Strike: Global Offense during a free weekend. It never seemed worth buying, especially with all of the cosmetic microtransactions. Well for $10 I bought the pack. My Team Fortress 2 friends seem to be migrating to Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, so why not buy it? Then never play it since I have no room on my 1 terabyte computer.

BULLY: SCHOLARSHIP EDITION
The more I play it, the more I feel like its San Andreas meets the Warriors. While I don’t think its captivating, I do feel its worth the $3 I bought it for.

ALIENS VS PREDATOR CLASSIC 2000
While I haven’t yet played it, AvP 2000 is legendary. After going through the legendarily awful Daikatana, I feel like I needed to play a good game from the same era using what might be the same engine.

MARLOW BRIGGS AND THE MASK OF DEATH
This is a gem of a game that I got for $1. I cannot speak highly enough about it. I can’t figure out how its so dirt cheap other than foreign currencies are dirt cheap.

CLANS
What the heck is this? I can’t even remember. Just another dirt cheap game. I forgot that I had even bought this game and the next.

WAR OPERATIONS
This is another dirt cheap, legendarily awful game. I’ll need to play it, because gamers are masochists that love to complain about things.

DARK VOID ZERO
Oh this piece of shit. I can’t even play. Oh its not because my computer isn’t top tier enough. Its because Capcoms digital rights management won’t let people play the copy they purchased legally. I had to write Capcom…. they have yet to write me back and its been a week or two.

ESCAPE GOAT
This was a gem of a game to play. A lot of fun, but not too difficult. Great gameplay, great puzzles and a more challenging second quest after you complete the game.

RAILROAD TYCOON II: PLATINUM
I loved the first Railroad Tycoon, but the problem was the game crashing errors. Wow the errors are awful. So I’m hoping this will be better. I’m not holding my breath, since Steam hates old games.

RUSH
After owning EDGE and Toki Tori, it was interesting to see this game from the same developers for a dollar. Seeing that it was so highly rated sealed the deal!

ORION: PRELUDE
Its dinosaurs! Horde mode dinosaurs! Or so I hear. After buying it for $1 it was on sale for fifty cents. Hey cheap is cheap. Normally I’d think it must be awful, but one of my friends plays it a lot.

BLEED
Wow this made my hands hurt after only a hour! It was fun, but it was over too quick, without being as memorable as Contra games.

WOAH DAVE!
Even though I bought this for $1, I still feel it was a let down. The game just feels very one dimensional. An arcade game not worthy enough to be considered a new classic like Super Crate Box.

DEAD PIXELS
Its like River City Ransom with guns and zombies! I briefly played it and haven’t looked back yet.

CTHULHU SAVES THE WORLD & BREATH OF DEATH VII DOUBLE PACK
Dirt cheap old school RPGs are never a good thing. People love them for their comedy. After playing through Breath of Death VII, I’m not looking forward to the other one.

BATTLEBLOCK THEATER
Well this was dirt cheap too, but I think the logic behind that is micro transactions. Lovely.

2 thoughts on “25 Dirt Cheap Games I bought for the Winter Steam Sale 2014

Leave a Reply

